Design Drama

documenting the delicate dance of design

(Spell)check, please! April 29, 2008

Every once in a while, I’ll take a peek at job boards to see what is going on in the graphic design market. Some months, there might be 10 jobs. Other times, there might be 7 per day. It’s all kind of a crap shoot.

All my life, whether it was in high school or college, or possibly from an employer telling me the horror stories of the resumes that have come across his desk, I’ve heard the same thing: Check your resume’ for typos and use spellcheck – that’s why it’s there.

I clicked on Craigslist tonight while goofing around on the computer and clicked on the “art, media & design” section of the job boards.

I clicked on this posting in particular: (bold words added by me for emphasis)

We have an open position for an experienced senior graphic designer. We are looking for the right candidate to join our growing team which produces XXXXXXXXX’s products. We are located in the XXXXX area. We poduce books, puzzles, stickers, and other products featuring major licenses. This is a full-time position. This is not an entry level position. We are looking for an eperienced individual who can immediately contribute to the group. This position requires competence with Illustrator, Photoshop, and Quark. We are Mac based. A relevant degree is necessary. Please send resume via email.

Excuse me, but the last time I heard the word “poduce” used in a sentence, Eddie Murphey was portraying Buckwheat on Saturday Night Live reruns.

Why would I, if I were looking for a job with an agency or a company, be bothered to send them a resume’ when this job poster can’t even take the time to spellcheck and proofread their job posting for errors? I mean, are you kidding me? “PODUCE”? “EPERIENCED”? And it’s not that this one is the first job posting I’ve seen that has blantant errors – they’re a dime a dozen, on Craigslist, at least.

If I sent a resume’ to this company, and I had TWO misspellings, they’d toss my resume’ in the trash. I wouldn’t blame them. I’ve seen it done before. That’s actually the method many companies employ in order to weed out the candidates. And I’ve been on interviews where the interviewer told me that one of the main reasons, other than my portfolio, for landing an interview, was because I had my act together when I sent my information to them.

So, job posters, you expect us to be serious. Well, whether you realize it or not, we expect you to bring your A-game. We both know that the designer is being interviewed, but what you may not realize is that your company is under a microscope as well.

 

3 Responses to “(Spell)check, please!”

  1. kate Says:

    I’ve seen this kind of thing so often lately, I can’t believe these businesses are lax about proofing or even re-reading their want ads. Yet, as I screen resumes that land in my husbands inbox – I find the applicants are just as bad. It’s really quite sad.

  2. missbethd Says:

    Thing is, when I type something on my computer in ANY program, if there is a typo, a little red line highlights underneath the word. I just don’t get it, unless there is a general sense of apathy.

  3. On one hand they should spell check. On the other, it can help you get an idea if you should work there or not. 🙂


Leave a Reply

