Design Drama

documenting the delicate dance of design

I love Craigslist. And I hate Craigslist. October 20, 2008

I think I wrote a post a while back about how every couple of weeks, I click on Craigslist to see what’s going on in the job market.

I saw this posting today:

I need someone to draw/create a one frame cartoon or animated picture that can will be approximately 3″ x 4″. The job pays $50.00 and your resume should be a Sunday cartoon type sample of your choice of human character. i.e. Send a sample and I will choose the style that I like. I will pick one person on Friday Oct., 24th.
At that time I will send to you the subject around which the drawing will be based.

* Location: XXXXXXX
* Compensation: $50.00

Posts like these are laughable and irritating to me.

Why?

Ok, say you go to grocery stores A, B & C. You get a steak from each, telling the cashier at each grocery store “I’m going to take your steak home. I’m going to cook it & eat it, and if I decide your steak is best, I will pay you for it, but not your regular price, I only want to pay $2.”

They’d laugh in your face.

That’s how I feel about postings like this.

This is insulting.

 

One Response to “I love Craigslist. And I hate Craigslist.”

  1. sannekurz Says:

    I so much feel the same…the funniest is, if they want you WITH your gear for less than the rental price would be…


Leave a Reply

